Stem Cell Processor? 24 Apr 2013 17:02 #406

• fatboy
  • fatboy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 77
Solicitation can be found at
www.acq.osd.mil/osbp/sbir/solicitations/sbir20132/army132.pdf

Since Hedrick is cited in most of the reference material it seems logical that Cytori would be a logical player here. Considering the fact that the celution machine already demonstrates the basic technology required. I am not a scientist but it seems that to downsize the footprint of the platform could be done. From what I have read on this site the current celution machine is smaller than the original. Can further changes be adapted to make it small enough to use as a field device? I think that is what the Army wants. In a true clinical setting I don't think the size of the device is as important.

I am not sure if Cytori qualifies as a small business since their market cap is in the hundreds of millions. In any case they could partner with a small lab in order to leverage their expertise and help to develop the handheld processor that the defense department is interested in obtaining. I would be interested to see how Cytori's oft referred to patents would impact any research involving the processing of adipose derived stem cells.

In any event it is nice to know that the government is convinced that regenerative medicine is a viable technology and is willing to invest in its development.

Here is the text of the solicitation.

A13-087 TITLE: Handheld Adipose Stem Cell Processor for Point of Care Application
TECHNOLOGY AREAS: Biomedical
ACQUISITION PROGRAM: Office of the Principal Assistant for Acquisition
OBJECTIVE: Develop a low cost, handheld tool that fully integrates the process from fat tissue harvest to high
quality stem cell product, enabling point of care application of adipose derived stem cell therapy.
DESCRIPTION: Adipose derived stem cells, in particular the stromal vascular fraction (SVF), are attractive for